Day 4201 (it hasn’t been easy, thank God)

I spent a lot of my life searching for the easy way out. When things got difficult I wanted no part in challenging them, it was about walking away, it was about finding a way without having to put on ALL the work. During that time, I wasn’t hurting anyone but myself but in my mind I was getting away with something when the reality was, I couldn’t have been more wrong. This play into the instant gratification mindset that I carried with me, and I wanted some sort of result, and at that point it didn’t matter what that looked like. It was easy to talk myself into it because I would just remind myself over and over again that something more probably wasn’t going to happen anyways so I made the right decision. I remember so many different moments when I settled for less because I was always in my head about not deserving anything more or anything better. It all comes down to our mindset and our way of thinking. This plays a role for good things as well as for bad things. We have a lot more power than we give ourselves credit for and it shows in our lives … both when it’s something positive as well as something negative. Active addiction did me no favors but it also made it easier for me to justify my actions.

When it comes to recovery — it hasn’t been easy and I couldn’t be more thankful for that fact. There are still moments when I wanted to look for a shortcut or search for an easy way out. The difference now is that I am able to take step back and take it all in, and do what is in my best interest which isn’t always what I want. That truth was something that took awhile for me to accept, but it continues to be one of the most freeing feelings I’ve ever experienced in my entire life. By doing that, we are able to navigate through things, as well as have an open mind and admit when we are struggling and/or settling for less than we truly deserve. As I continue on this journey I look forward to the challenge, I look forward to the difficult days, I look forward to the fun days, the enjoyable days, the tough days, the survival days as they are all part of the journey and that’s the only way we will truly be able to live and lead a full life which I think we all deserve.

God bless,

Brian 👐🏻

Leave a comment