Day 4188 (The rock on which I stand)

Finding a firm foundation in life can seem impossible at times. Throughout my life I never really knew where to look because I was far too busy thinking I could do things on my own without seeking answers, direction or guidance. There is a worship song called Firm Foundation that I hear regularly. It mentions the title in it but the other part it says is that the ground is sinking sand. I think about that line a lot because that’s how life felt for me when it was absent from Jesus. It felt like no matter what I did, there was a feeling of sinking, and that I wasn’t doing myself any favors. With zero sense of direction it can be easy to continue to lean into the things that kept us in the darkness all along. So often the answers are right in front of our faces it just becomes a matter of choosing to see them or continuing to choose to ignore them. For me, ignoring them was easy because there was always a thrill in the chaos, the unknown and impulsivity. The thing about those three things is that the shine always wears off rather quickly but those initial moments always made it worth coming back to experience it again and again.

Since I surrendered my life to Jesus Christ I’ve grown more and more familiar with the rock that He is and how important it is to keep my feet firmly on it. The thing about it is at the end of the day I find myself wandering, and each time I am reminded of the sinking sand, which leads me right back to the rock time and time again. That reminder is necessary because the sinking sand is a great example of life. It’s one bad decision that leads to two that leads to three that leads to four and so on. There is an acceptance in knowing we are always going to be a work in progress but making sure we are always putting one foot in front of the other. I’ve said this a lot over the years but if we take one stop forward today or walk a mile — progress is progress. This can be tough to accept but it’s true. In recovery when it comes to difficult days, sometimes staying sober is the only thing on the list and that’s a win. We have to make sure we have priorities in life and that we are treating them as such opposed to just calling them priorities. Talking about things will only get us so far, at some point action needs to take over because as the old expression goes — actions speak louder than words.

God bless,

Brian 👐🏻

Leave a comment