Day 4205 (I had to learn to trust myself)

There were always so many negative thoughts going in and out of my mind. If I wasn’t encouraging myself, it didn’t matter what anyone else said because I wasn’t going to do it. The trust factor was never there because I was always so impulsive in any and everything. That way of thinking got me in a lot of trouble and it had me refusing to take accountability and responsibility for my words and my actions. There were times when things would be going well and I could see what life could look like. It didn’t last, but it were those moments that reminded me of what could be. The only way things were going to change is if I began to trust myself to make the right decisions for me opposed to falling back into bad habits and staying in my comfort zone that was alcohol and drugs. That comfort zone made things easy in the sense that I always felt like I had somewhere to go, but also made my life much more difficult because of the consistent negative consequences that followed those choices.

As I continue on my recovery journey I am always reminded of how important it is to continue to trust myself to make the correct decisions. I have to make sure to remind myself what’s best for me isn’t always going to be what I want for me. It’s about looking long term and making sure I’m setting myself up for success. It is difficult to navigate life, and it should be. When we accept that life is hard, we stay focused and we stay committed to working through things the best we can.

God bless,

Brian 👐🏻

Leave a comment